Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood | My First Anime

As I stated on my lovely About page, I hadn’t ever watched a single anime prior to the summer of 2014. As it was, I was spending countless sluggish days in bed on the phone or downstairs on the computer, bored out of my mind because I had already finished binge-watching the newest season of ANTM and didn’t have anything left to watch. (Looking back, I was sort of pitiful. Not to say I’m not still pitiful now either.)

I didn’t know much about anime, nor care. I knew people at my school who were into it, but it seemed like something that had nothing to do with my life. And really, back then, it didn’t.

One day, a friend invited me to her birthday party. I grudgingly forced myself to leave the house. And, of course, being the bored teenagers we were, we ended up at her house, scrolling through Netflix, trying to decide what to watch.

One friend suggested we watch Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood. So we watched a few minutes of the first episode before my friends lost interest. Then we proceeded to play Just Dance for the rest of our time.

I didn’t think much of it. It was probably one of those weird shows that I wouldn’t like anyway, I thought. The whole premise seemed kind of macabre–they lose their body parts and try to regain them? Ick. No thank you.

At least, that’s what I told myself. That night, I came across the first episode of the show on Youtube (thank you, Funimation). I hesitated at first. But it wasn’t like I had anything better to do. Might as well give it a shot. So I clicked on the video and settled down.

By episode two, I was hooked.

And thus followed what can only be described as a marathon session on steroids. I spent every spare second I had watching the show, staying up late at night as I stared bug-eyed at my phone screen. I was investing everything I had in the show–the lethargic summer I had been living could hardly compare to Ed and Al’s adventures, to the importance of their goal, to the strength of their bond. I grew to love them, along with all the characters they met along the way, be it Ling or Mustang or even Envy (although I thought he was a girl the whole time).

I can still remember how I felt when episode 64 came.

I was sprawled on my bed, feeling the heaviness in my heart. It had been such a joy to ride along with Ed and Al, to watch them struggle and grow and change–but it was ending. It was ending. They were getting the happy endings they deserved but it was ending. As the ending credits rolled, tears welled up in my eyes for no particular reason at all.

But then I rewatched the show four times after that, so it’s chill.

I will say, though, I carried Ed and Al with me for a long time afterwards. I thought about them whenever I could. I analyzed their characters. FMA:B was like a bad addiction I couldn’t quit. But I told myself, this is it. This is the only anime I’ll watch. But, you know, one thing led to another…

So I guess that’s the story of how I got sucked into the black hole.

And you know, in spite of how much anime I may watch or how much my tastes may change, FMA:B will always hold a very special place in my heart. Because it was my first. And nothing in the world could ever change that.

tl;dr the first anime you ever watch will imprint on you so make sure you choose yourself a good’un!!

(also I realized I spent more time talking about myself than FMA:B so I guess I’m proving that I’m just a narcissistic writer using anime as an excuse to talk about myself. sorry. more to come.)

Leave a Reply

