Boku dake ga Inai Machi | EP 9

Saying that this episode had me on the edge of my seat would be a vast understatement.

So am I the only one who thinks Yashiro-sensei is super sketchy? I mean, there was the whole thing with the red eyes sometime near the beginning, not to mention that Sachiko seemed to recognize her killer, and that all the brief shots of the killer we’ve seen resemble our hapless sensei. This show has not exactly been subtle, and it’s almost impossible not to suspect the sensei at least a bit.

This episode did nothing to assail my concerns. If the show’s pointing fingers, all the attention landed directly on Yashiro-sensei’s shoulders. Why you do this to me, Boku dake whatever-the-rest -of-your-name-is?

I think part of me is still hoping it’s not true, despite all the hints, because I like Yashiro-sensei. He seems like a sensible, friendly fellow, and he has an easy rapport with Sachiko and Satoru. Who knows–maybe the show is trying to divert the audience’s attention. Or maybe the sensei is involved, but not the murderer (although I suppose that wouldn’t be any better). But I can’t quell the feeling of disquiet whenever he’s in a scene. Why would they make him so damn likable if he wasn’t a serial killer? Gotta balance character flaws, after all.

Anyway, my paranoid thoughts aside, I did enjoy this episode. Although, frankly, that might be because I spent most of it flipping out about Sensei instead of paying attention to what was actually going on.

As for the latter part of the episode, I’m not sure I’m sold on Kenya yet. That superhero line was, admittedly, pretty cheesy, and he seems way too mature and self-realized for a kid. I mean, Satoru does too, but he’s actually 29 so I’ll give him a pass. But Kenya… I’m just not buying it. I suppose we’ll have to wait for ERASED to relinquish all its secrets before I can make a final judgment.

And yes, I am concerned as hell for Kayo right now. As soon as she got into that car with Sensei all I could think was, “He’s going to murder her. He’s going to murder her.” Ironic, how ERASED’s lack of subtlety ended up creating that much more suspense. It’s like allowing the audience to see someone placing a ticking bomb under a table, effectively building up apprehension as it ticks throughout the entire show.

I can’t say I’m looking forward to the explosion.

Leave a Reply

